Using snappy on jupyter notebook (over anaconda platform)

hi, I’m kind of new to programming in python so my question might be a bit novice.
In my daily work I write scripts using the jupyter notebook platform. My python (2.7 on win 64bit) and all its modules
and packages are installed over Anaconda (64 bit). I would like to implement in my scripts processing of ESA data (like Sentinel-3) and for that I would like to be able to use snappy on my jupyter notebook. I recently installed SNAP and on the python executable
option I inserted the path to python.exe on anaconda folder. However when I try to import snappy I get error massage that
there is no module named snappy. Is anyone using snappy on jupyter notebook that can advise me or direct me on how to do that?
I’m not a software engineer or an expert on these topics so an answer for the regular laymen would be appreciated.

Good Morning,

actually the STEP webpage offers something that could be really close to your needs.

If you look at this link :

https://github.com/techforspace/sentinel

you will find some jupyter notebooks exploiting the python module snappy for SNAP.

There you can find how to properly install the module, and then some interesting examples of application.

The repository is currently mantained and more tutorials and examples will be added soon by the staff of TFS

Hi ranp,

The error you received there is no module named snappy , is because snappy has not been properly installed. For installing the sanppy you need to:

• Execute the python configuration file which is the snappy-conf located at the directory snap/bin. Once you are in that folder, you just need to do the following: ./snappy-conf < location of your python executable>

• Once this step is completed, you need to find snappy.ini located at .snap/snap-pyhton/snappy/snappy.ini , open the text editor and set the java maximum memory (that depends on your machine). In my case this text file looks like:
    [DEFAULT]