Bad Weather Event Canary Islands (Detection of floodings)

Hi there,

First of all, thank you very much to ESA for all it has done with this Forum.

Im a student of Telecommunications at Canary Islands and Im just finishing my studies, making a Final Project studyng the capabilites of SAR Sentinel-1 for land classification.

Last day (23 October) a village of Canary Islands suffered the worst rainning event of the last years…110 litres/square metre (2 hours). The rain did a lot of damage to a little part of the coast of the Island of Gran Canaria. The main thing here is that, Sentinel-1 just made one SAR capture at the moment of the event (Coincidence!). An IW product.

So I want to know if it is possible to determine the areas with water with this data. I have read that it is better to have a quad pol product, but these ones are dual polarisation only. So, before starting making tests…do you recommend me some steps for water/soil detection on land with this data?

Im going to try with Polarimetric Decomposition, as it says on tutorials…but they are thought for Quad Polarisations…

The exact product I have got is this: S1A_IW_GRDH_1SDV_20151023T190457_20151023T190526_008284_00BACF_DFB1 (available also on RAW or SLC)

Thank you very much in advance, it would be great to have results for this weather event in which goverment has declared a local emegency situation.

Aridane

1 Like

Sentinel-1 has only dual polarization capabilities, and over-land, usually, you will find products in DV (VV/VH) as is the case with your product or in vertical polarization (SV).