Ship object classification using sentinel 1 GRD image

Hi everyone,

I am a total newbie in this.

I am embarking on a project to detect ship in Sentinel 1 GRD images. I plan on using machine learning techniques to train a model to identify the ships objects in my downloaded land of interest.

I had thought out of the steps i will go about doing it. Currently I am trying on 1 image.
I will divide the image into smaller sub images (havent decided on the pixel count for each sub segment and if its possible on SNAP). I am trying to extract out those pixels that look like ship and cut them out in standard pixel size to generate my training set.

My test set will be on one of the sub images.

I would also be using python and snappy and working on Jupyter Notebook for testing my code.

STEPS

1. preprocessing with SNAP (No clue how to start here)
  2. create a training set of 200 ships object (cross validate with optical images from sentinel 2)
    • these will be basically cut out picture from the original image with ship centered in the image. I do not know how to get these to a standard size of 80 by 80 at the moment of if there is a better pixel by pixel size i should consider.
  3. create a training sets of 400 non ship object such as island, coastal areas, small blobs of land.

Once these are done, I would be using a simple logistic regression to classify if the pic is ship or not ship. Once the model is trained, I would test it on another region of the map.

Once that is done, I would cross check it with optical image from Sentinel 2 on the same region.

I would like to know if this plan sounds good?

I plan to use SIFT or the SURF method for ship images before going into the training. Currently I am quite lost as to what method I should use.

Any help and advice from the gurus here would be much appreciated.