Supervised and unsupervised classification, Sentinel 2

Hello everyone,

I’m a student of geodesy and geomatics and I’m supposed to do thesis on classification (supervised and unsupervised) of area near Novi Sad, Serbia. Since I’m new to s2tbx I’m having some problems. I already tried to do the unsupervised classification but the process didn’t finish even though it worked all night. I already tried to find some tutorials and user-guides that could help me, but I didn’t find anything usefull. So I was wondering if there is anyone who could help me in any way possible? I could use some instructions like where to start, etc.
Name of the product: S2A_OPER_PRD_MSIL1C_PDMC_20160815T080201_R036_V20150725T094006_20150725T094003
SNAP version: 4.0
I don’t have much experience with softwares like s2tbx, since only software I worked with is ERDAS.

Anyway, that’s all guys.

Thanks in advance.

3 Likes

if the unsupervised classification took too long you can

1. subset your image and test it (a whole S2 scene could take really long for a cluster or EM analysis)
  2. reduce the number of clusters
  3. Choose another classifier (EM and K-means take different time)

For a supervised classification you have to define geometries including your training areas.

Make one per class you want to detect.

They are stored in the vector Data folder (don’t mind about pins and gcps)

You can then select a supervised classifier, but make sure you know a litte about how they and corresponding parameters work. KNN is quite simple and you can’t do much wrong with it. Your trained classes should appear in the dialogue:

5 Likes

Thank you very much. You were very helpful. I followed your instructions and I did everything right.

Hi,

I tried all the steps, but the classified map is blank. May you tell me where I missed out

hard to guess. What data are you using? Which steps did you perform?