Water Detection by Sentinel 3

Hi dear
I am new in Sentinel 3 usage. I have to flood detect by sentinel 3 images.
Could somebody help me in this field?
Could I use just the LQSF masks for water detection?
If not, is there any processor or product for water detection by S3, like Fmask and Sen2Cor forS2?
Why did somebody use C2RCC separately? I think it is done on L2 products.

I’m not sure if the flags of OLCI are sensitive enough for flood detection, because flooded land has still a land characteristic in the spectrum. And you would also need some value to compare against it to decide if the pixel is flooded or was always water.
How they are defined is described here on page 17: Sentinel-3 OLCI Land User Handbook - Sentinel Online (esa.int)
C2RCC is used to detect the constituents of the water, not the water itself.
Idepix relies on the provided flag information of the L1C product and additional static maps. In general, Idepix is simlar to Fmask it classifies the pixels.

What you can do is to compute the NDWI2 (Optical / Thematic Land Processing / Water Radiometric Indices), put a threshold on it e.g. 0.6 and if this is higher and the flag says the pixel should actually be land then you might have a flooded area.
As static information to compare against you could also use the Fractional land/water Mask (Raster / Masks).

In general, using sentinel-1 for flood detection would be better.
If you search in our Tutorials for ‘flood’ you will find some information.

1 Like

Thank you very much for your complete answer.

Dear Marco Peters
Your last respond really help me to not to be confused in Sentinel 3 usage. Your opinion is the reality but I am doing research so I have to know the algorithm details of the processes.