Sentinel-1A data preprocessing

Hi everyone,

I am new with Sentinel-1A data. I have downloaded some GRD data with names like this:

S1A_IW_GRDH_1SDV_20151125T193206_20151125T193231_008765_00C7D9_9BA0.zip

I would like to know whether the following steps of pre-processing have been applied or need to be conducted for these products (GRD products).

(1) Radiometric calibration.
(2) Multi-looking.
(3) Speckle filtering.
(4) Terrain correction.

Thank you for help!

Regards, Gao

Hi Gao,

(1) Radiometric calibration.
Yes S1-A products has been radiometrically calibrated - see ESA document at: https://sentinel.esa.int/web/sentinel/user-guides/sentinel-1-sar/document-library/-/asset_publisher/1dO7RF5fJMbd/content/sentinel-1-radiometric-calibration-of-products-generated-by-the-s1-ipf

(2) Multi-looking.
For GRD products multi-looking as been performed - see Table 5-1 on page 5-2 of the ESA document at:
https://sentinel.esa.int/documents/247904/0/Sentinel-1+Product+Definition+V2.6. Multi-looking is not performed for complex products.

(3) Speckle filtering.
This is not performed on S1-A products.

(4) Terrain correction.
This is not performed on S1-A products.

Peter

2 Likes

Actually, you will still need to apply the LUT (via the calibration operator of the toolbox) if you want to have Sigma0, Gamma0 or Beta0.

2 Likes

Hi Peter,

Thank you so much for your exhaustive reply. I have another question: I found that there are only two polarizations in the product, namely VV and VH. How about other polarizations such as HH? (Sorry, I am new with SAR data ^ ^) Thank you so much!

Regards, Gao.

Hi lveci,