S-2 projection shift

Hi all,

I’m new to Sentinel data, so I hope my question’s not too naive!

I want to compare Sentinel-2 pixel reflectance between passes, in order to identify particular vegetation types. However I’ve noticed when comparing imagery between passes that the whole image is sometimes shifted geographically in one direction. Sometimes these shifts are up to 20m: this means that the same pixel of a granule doesn’t refer to exactly the same geographical location between passes, for 10m-resolution bands, and so isn’t comparable between passes.

E.g., imagery at a zoomed in site of interest…
S2A_OPER_MSI_L1C_TL_SGS__20160325T183206_A003952_T30UYD_N02.01
S2A_OPER_MSI_L1C_TL_SGS__20160606T150040_A004996_T30UYD_N02.02
S2A_OPER_MSI_L1C_TL_SGS__20160812T144946_A005954_T30UYD_N02.04
…are all georeferenced slightly differently (see animation).

Is this normal? The distances involved (e.g. 21m from first image to second image) seem extreme, compared to the measured performance of the product (https://sentinels.copernicus.eu/web/sentinel/missions/sentinel-2/data-quality-report). However, I tried this on another nearby tile and found similar movements between passes. Is there a way I can deal with this please?

Thanks!

It seems that the 3 products belong to 3 different baselines (02.01, 02.02, 02.04, I can read at the end of the filename). This can be the cause for misregistration, since each new baseline improve among other the geometric coregistration.

When the older products will be reprocessed using the last baseline (02.04) you should be able to see no misregistration problems.

Federico

2 Likes

Thanks Federico. Is there a timescale for when the older products will be brought up to date to 02.04?

Hi @jdavies,

here you can find weekly updates on Sentinel-2 mission status containing, among the others, information on reprocessing campaings:

https://sentinel.esa.int/web/sentinel/missions/sentinel-2/mission-status

1 Like

Many thanks - that’s ideal.

Hi,