Apply-Orbit-File thrugh corporative proxy

Hi there

First of all, congratulations for your great work

I am facing a problem. When trying to apply the orbit correction to a Sentinel-1 image trough gpt, the restituted orbit cannot be downloaded from https://qc.sentinel1.eo.esa.int. However, I have checked that, indeed, the orbit file exist.

As I am downloading it behind a corporative proxy, the main suspect was a configuration issue. However, I set the -Dhttps.proxyHost and -Dhttps.proxyPort (everywhere), and still nothing. Note that the proxy does not require user authentication.

After checking the differences with chrome and gpt (using wireshark), it seems that the connection to https://qc.sentinel1.eo.esa.int is done directly, not through the configured proxy. However, chrome was requesting the file through the proxy.

I could find the code where the connection is done, but I am not a java expert, I am sorry. However, let me know if I can provide you with more information.

Thanks in advance

Luis

Facing exactly the same problem, have you finally found a solution?

Well, we found several solutions, but not fancy ones:

• Negociate with your company to open a dedicated connection (our solution).
  • Download manually the DEM into the Snap cache.
  • Configure a small VM with Squid as transparent proxy (we did not get it work, but we know about people that got it).
  • Get an external VPN and configure OpenVPN for handling all the problematic URLs. This is not recommended, as probably your company will be mad at you.

Without changin Snap code, as you can see, all we can get are workarounds

Have you identified a bug in the way SNAP handles proxies?

I am using my awful memory now, and I am not a Java expert. Therefore, maybe all that I am saying here is a nonsense. Sorry if it is the case.