Bulk import and pre-processing using python

Hi,

I am new to using SNAP and SAR imagery.

I have dozens of Sentinel-1 SLC files that I would like to bulk import and do all required pre-processing using SNAP.

The project will look at Polarimetric analysis and I would also like to analyse deformation using interferometry.

I think these two analysis methods might require different processing steps?

Can anyone point me in the right direction to achieve both of these goals using python in SNAP.

Thanks very much

May be training from here can help you.

1 Like

From my experience the first and most difficult step is to get snappy to install in your python environment. If you work with multiple python environments I suggest you set up one specifically for snap. Unless they release the new SNAP 10 you will have to set up SNAP 9 with an old version of python.

Hi,

This is great. Thank you.

There is plenty of other great resources in there that I will dive into also.

Cheers

Ok. Sounds like a tricky process.

I am week one day one with SNAP but have average python experience so I will research Snappy and see if I can pull this off.

Was hoping it would be a something like a python interface in SNAP and just input code to batch process.

I did read something (not confirmed as genuine) about using the model builder function in SNAP and adding the model builder saved graph file Into a python script.

No idea if this is the best way to do this.

Essentially, I have 40 SLC Sentinel-1 files and I want to use them for multiple analysis (polarimetry, interferometry) so the processeing steps will be slightly different as I understand it.

SLC is best for interferometry? Would the SLC work for Polarimetric analysis or should this be GRD (Sentinel-1)?

There is a graph builder in the SNAP GUI which may fit your needs. You build the graph (or input an XML that describes your graph) for your batch processing.