Change detection and ratio

Hello I am a novice in SAR images so forgive me for my trivial question. What is the ratio obtained by change detection? And is there a rule of thumb in order to define a “correct” threshold?

Thank you
Kind regards
Gabriele

Calculate the ratio between two dates, for example in intensity, and examine the results. For the threshold you need to play around with the data and see what gives a reasonable result.

1 Like

Thank you mengdahl.
Before performing change detection do the images need to be also calibrated and terrain corrected?

Calibration is certainly recommended, I would do terrain correction as the last step.

1 Like

…on the other hand if you want to compare different threshold values against a map, you might as well do terrain correction first. If you do this it will be easier for you to for example mask out areas that do not interest you, for example water-bodies (which can have extreme values in the ratio-images).

2 Likes

I have only a HH polarization. I would rather do the water masking after TC. Could you please explain what kindda SAR image ratio you are referring to?

Thanks

With the ratio-image I mean for example:

ratio image = (SAR image at very windy conditions)/(SAR image at very calm conditions)

In calm conditions water surfaces have very low backscatter values, and in windy conditions the backscatter can be quite high -> ratio images detect water-bodies quite nicely.

2 Likes

very nice! Thanks for sharing it! Is there a specific rate expected that we should obtain from this image ratio (sth between a and b) specifically for water? In other words, how we can recognize e.g., image ratio of 3 is for the water bodies?

Thanks again

Hello.
i try to execute a change detection with l1 data.
my proc.graph is: productsetreader->create stack -> cross correlation-> changedetection ->write
But everytime it appears the failure: “ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsExeption”