Conductivity from Sentinel-1 Image

Hello,
I want to find the conductivity values of each pixel from the Sentinel-1 image. I have already completed the processing steps and i want to know how to find the conductivity values of each pixel?
Thank you

1 Like

Can you please explain a bit more what you mean with conductivity?
SAR backscatter is related to the conductivity of a medium, but also to the roughness of a surface, its orientation, shape, ect. Conductivity is not stored as a separate information, it is rather a part of the overall signal.

SAR polarimetry deals with the decomposition of signals into their physical components, e.g. the contribution of volume scattering, but it requires fully-polarimetric data (HH HV VH VV) while Sentinel 1 is dual-pol only (VV VH).

2 Likes

@ABraun helloo, thank you for the quick reply.
Firstly i want to tell Im new to SAR imagery works. In my research, I want to find the electrical conductivity value of the ground directly from sentinel-1 image for a selected area. Meanwhile, I will do the field survey as well to compare the conductivity values obtained between Sentinel-1 image and field survey.

Now i want to know is it possible to extract the electric conductivity values from Sentinel-1 image after done the image processing work?

Thank you so much.

1 Like

This is a pretty challenging task for a beginner :slight_smile:

Although there is a linear relationship between conductivity and and SAR backscatter, you would have to remove all other contributions to the signal.

If you had two absolute identical areas (same soil type, same roughness, same vegetation cover,…) and one had a higher conductivity than the others you would see a difference in backscatter intensity between them. But as no area is like the other and SAR data additionally contains speckle, you can never know if the backscatter variation results from moisture, roughness, vegetation by looking at the image.