Flood Map using GRD

Hi all,

I am fairly new to SAR data, and I am trying to create a flood event/inundation map of the Houston area using S1 GRD VV polarization data. I have processed SLC’s before but I cannot find any automated steps to guide me through how to properly process GRD data.

So far, I have tried these steps:

Remove GRD border > Calibrate > Speckle Filter (Lee) > Linear to dB > Band Maths for Binarization >Range-Doppler Terrain Correction

I also would like to export JUST the flooded zones so I can analyze it in Google Earth. I’m not entirely familiar with the software so if anyone has a suggestion, it would be greatly appreciated.

This tutorial is very useful. Procesing chain is a little different from Yours.
I mapped floods by multilook-calibrate-dB-terrain correction. Then I performed band maths to extract water mask.

I guess that You can map just flooded zones by subtracting water masks (water during floods - water before floods).

1 Like

Hi Zane

How you defined the threshold???

It was also discussed somewhere in this forum. I can’t find the topic now…
Its quite manually. Select AOI with water and land pixels in similar amount, compute histogram for the AOI, and find the lowest point between the two peaks. For me it usually is around -1dB, but sometimes completely different (like in example).

Wow, that is exactly what I was looking for. Unfortunately, mapping over urban areas or areas with high wind can make it tough when you barely have a bi-modal histogram.

Thanks!

Also, if I choose to mosaic, which I would prefer in this case, would SAR Mosaic be the best option? I am assuming I would do this before Terrain Correction, but I’m not sure.

I created a stack following the directions from ESA, however, the images are not correctly aligned and I am unable to coregister GRD products. Is there any solution to this? I apologize for asking so many questions. I included a screenshot of the RGB view using master as red and slave as blue/green.