How to Apply D-InSAR with python (not time-series such as SBAS)

I am trying to implement InSAR using Python.

While I’m studying the theory by referring to various resources, I’m planning to write actual code to understand each step of the process. I’d like to first try D-InSAR, the most fundamental type of InSAR, but I cannot find any resource dealing specifically with D-InSAR, hence I’m asking for help.

Is there a Python library that simply allows D-InSAR implementation, not PS-InSAR or SBAS?

Libraries like PyGMTSAR and Mintpy all mention SBAS, and they do not cover D-InSAR, which uses only two images, making them difficult to use as a reference. Rather than a complex time-series, I want to first try InSAR using just two images.

Of course, if you consider D-InSAR as simply the step of forming an interferogram, it could be part of the process of doing SBAS, but as a beginner, I’m not yet able to figure out how to separate the intermediate process, so I want to first try D-InSAR.

The D-InSAR process I’m attempting to try is identical to the Interferometry Tutorial provided by SNAP. Is there a Python package that allows me to follow this tutorial exactly?
(My goal is to analyze land subsidence with python)

You can use MintPY and only take images with 6/12/24/ X day of differences to make simple D-InSAR which will be less robust. That why SBAS is used to reduces the errors with unwrapping / interferogram formation

1 Like

Thank you for your response. @Clem.G

As far as I know, does MintPy not support the preprocessing stage for D-InSAR?
According to the link , although it’s for SBAS, it suggests applying MintPy after creating an InSAR stack using other tools.

Is this correct?

Dear gjustin,

D-InSAR is the “classical” method to compare two interferogram. If you want to doing time series like that :

1 +2, 2+3, 3+4 and divide by the mean of all the result you loose lot’s of information. That which SBAS technical was made.