LAI time series

HI all, SNAP newbie here :pleading_face: please be gentle!
i’m interested in using LAI values as an input variable for a combined canopy/hydrology model I’m developing, and having searched this forum i’m a little confused.
I find many posts about calculating LAI, but there is an available product for LAI at 300m resolution, why is everyone trying to calculate it? Is the available product not good?
my main question is, how do i identify a single pixel in the .tiff file i download as a point ‘on the ground’ so that I can use it to validate field measurements, and also create a time series of LAI for that point on the ground?

Many thanks in advance :slight_smile:

I expect you will find these forums supportive of people coming to remote sensing from other disciplines.

As you know, LAI is used for many different purposes. If you have a priori information about the nature of the vegetation in your region of interest and ground truth data, you should be able to improve on a generic LAI algorithm. If you find the standard LAI is not working for your purposes, you might want to look for ways to more directly apply optical remote sensing in your hydrology model.

The TIFF files should include geolocation metadata (e.g., they use GeoTIFF tags) so when you load the image in SNAP you should be able to view pixel values and coordinates (Pixel Value Tutorial). If you have a list of locations, SNAP provides a “pixel extraction” tool, which can used in the GUI or for batch processing. You can also run “gpt PixEx” in a terminal.

1 Like

Thanks @gnwiii , that worked perfectly!
Now i just need to overlay an Ordnance survey map in SNAP so i can locate a pixel on the ground…

Overlays are a bit of kludge in SNAP. You need to create a new “product” with both LAI and the ordinance map on the same projection and image dimensions. Particularly if your map is vector data overlays are more in the wheelhouse of GIS packages.