Mapping tree height of mangroves using sentinel 1 (RADAR)

I am a Masters student and my research is based on mapping the tree height and biomass of mangroves using sentinel 1 (RADAR).
I am facing challenges in getting the real methodology on mapping the tree height and articles are so scarce on that matter especially on Radar data.
Can you kindly assist?

Let’s start with your second demand, which is

It is possible to calculate the Radar Vegetation Index, RVI, this topic is quite discussed in here, and how could be modified the equation,

Radar Vegetation Index

Radar Forest Degradation

Also you could take a look at

Agricultural Applications with SAR Data

Crop type classification

Also it is possible to classify S-1 images (GRD)

LAND COVER MAPPING USING SENTINEL-1 SAR DATA

DEFORESTATION MONITORING WITH SENTINEL-1 Case Study: Paraguay, 2018

Let’s comeback now to your first demand

It is not possible to measure the tree heights using S-1 for a very simple reason that S-1 is C-band 5.8 cm wavelength

Source

2 Likes

@falahfakhri thank you for your import. so what can i do now to measure the tree height

in my opinion, this is a quite ambitious topic for a master thesis, especially if there is no experience in this area.
The problem is that Sentinel-1 signals decorrelate over vegetation quite quickly. Therefore, interferometric measurements of vegetation are hardly possible. I don’t think this can be done in SNAP, because the standard tools (classic interferometry) don’t allow this kind of analysis.

You could have a look at the PolSARpro toolbox which was designed for biomass analyses. But I don’t know if dual polarization data (Sentinel-1 has only VV+VH) can be used for forest height inversion.
https://www.ietr.fr/polsarpro-bio/

At least there are examples within the program on this topic.

2 Likes

I think you could try up airborne LIDARSACAN or Laser scan, this is explained in here, of course in case you have this capabilities,