Mininmal SNAP for commandline only (cloud?)

Dear Developers and community,

I would like to install SNAP in a cloud environment - most preferably as Docker container, but for the least as slim command line version without any GUI stuff.

I know there’s already some information scattered in this forum about that, but I failed to find a comprehensive answer that would make sense to a non-developer like me.

I also know that there are no official Docker images or plans to provide some. But there are the efforts of @edwardpmorris who created a bunch of Dockerfiles for SNAP 2 and 3.

Anyways, I’m aiming for the slimmest, most recent version possible while maintaining the core functionality (S1/S2/S3 processing).

So my questions:

What’s the best way to go about that (yeah that’s the big one)

and

if/when I compile the code from source, do I need SNAP-desktop for the commandline functionality?

Again, apologies for my ignorance … but since I’m not a developer myself, my knowledge about Java and the SNAP construct is quite limited.

All tips are highly appreciated.

Best,

Val

Hi Val, the Docker containers I made are probably need updating, but I am happy to help out on the latest versions. At the time I kept most of the useful info in the GitHub README https://github.com/edwardpmorris/docker-snap

What’s the best way to go about that (yeah that’s the big one)
Without getting too much into Docker container options; you may want to think about how secure your container should be? How small/minimal it can it be? Will you use Python? A strategy for builds with different toolboxes, updates and components? From your post sounds like a slim, general, own-use container. So at first guess I would suggest latest Debian base image (you may try smaller base images), SNAP + S1, S2, S3 which will be > 2GB.

do I need SNAP-desktop for the commandline functionality?