"no appropriate product reader found"

Hi,

I am quite new to this software but have been told to download and open my files like this, so I can use the data from them, but an error message keeps coming up so I’m not sure what I am doing wrong. All I can find about this issue is .XML files not .nc . Any suggestions would be helpful, thanks!

You should mention the SNAP version. Your file is level-3 binned data from a very recent reprocessing. SNAP is built around grid data (e.g., matrices) but binned data (ESA and NASA both use binning, but the storage formats differ). I generate level-4 binned products from level-3 binned data and use NASA OCSSW command-line processing system on linux. OCSSW software also runs on Intel macOS. On Windows I use Python to read .L3b.MO.CHL, but I have not yet tried the new reprocessing as I have been using VIIRS SNPP data.

NASA has SeaDAS 8, which is based on SNAP but adds OCSSW support to the GUI.

You may find IOCCG Report 4 (2004). Guide to the creation and use of ocean-colour, Level-3, binned data products. Edited by David Antoine, pp. 88 useful.

This version of L3 binned data is not supported. There is a L3 Binned data reader provided by SeaDAS but it expects different metadata in the file.

@gnwiii do you if the format has changed recently?

I get the “no appropriate reader” message with NASA SeaDAS 8.2.0. The initial SeaDAS L3b reader did not match the OCSSW bin number calculation so it appears that the SeaDAS L3b reader has been abandoned.

NASA now supports higher resolutions which requires a long int for the bin numbers. ESA
binning numbers the bins at each latitude starting from 1 to N_lat. NASA numbering is 1 to sum(N_lat). I haven’t yet checked any new reprocessings to see if long int is used for lower
resolutions.