Offset tracking in SNAP

Hi everyone,

I am very new to processing SAR images and I am working on a rather difficult topic at the moment, which is trying to calculate sand dune movement in the Sahara using Sentinel 1 images. I am working on an area close to Arouane in Mali, and unfortunately I do not have much insight to start with regarding at which speed the dunes may be moving but I assume it is rather slow as it seems to be mostly linear dunes in this area.
So far, I found this study which is similar to mine and I have been trying to reproduce their methodology: Remote Sensing | Free Full-Text | The Use of SAR Offset Tracking for Detecting Sand Dune Movement in Sudan

I first had poor results with big squares appearing on my output velocity band (see attached image). I decided to add a few pre-processing steps to try to improve the results but the squares remain.
My workflow typically includes:

• apply orbit file
  • speckle filter (lee sigma)
  • calibration
  • thermal noise removal
  • GRD border noise removal
  • subset
  • co-registration (using DEM SRTM 1sec)
  • offset tracking, putting change max velocity at 1m/day (I put it very low in order to try to take into account the fact that dunes seem to move slowly in this region).

I have also conducted tests using several pair of images, but I always obtained the same “squared” results as in the picture I attached. The different pairs I tried were :

• 1st and 13th of February 2017
  • 1st and 25th of February 2017
    1st of February and 21st of March 2017

With my small experience processing SAR images, I cannot tell if this issue is coming from the way I pre-process my data,or if I did not choose an appropriate pair of images (though I have been, as I said, trying to reproduce what was done in the aforementioned study where they choose pairs of images having 12 days of difference).