Pixel depth reduced after resampling

Hi,
Until last week, I was successful in exporting a resampled RGB image from SNAP with the pixel depth remaining as un integer 16 bit. But I tried the same today, following the steps> Raster>Geometric>Resampling(B2 setting), export image. And the pixel including the old images, when re run to confirm, produced the same result of 8 bit. Am l missing something or is the procedure wrong?
Thanks for the help in advance.

Please desbribe what you did exactly and with what kind of satellite product, so we can check whether it’s a bug.

Hi,
Sorry, I’m a novice in GIS. Please forgive my ignorance.
I downloaded two recent Sentinel S2A_MSIL2A and S2B_MSIL2A images.
I tried to Resample the images each using SNAP in order to use the geotiff after exporting it as an image on ArcGIS for Land Cover Study.
The steps followed on SNAP 6.0 (updated) are as below:

1. Uploaded the .xml file of S2A image
  2. Raster>Geometric Operations> Resampling
  3. In the resampling window, selected ‘open in snap’,
    parameter settings as reference band for source: ‘B2’
  4. Open RGB image
  5. Export View as image.

Now, after these steps, usually, the geotiff file saved has a pixel depth of unsigned integer 16 and the Pyramid is level 4, resampling, Nearest neighbour.
But in this case, the Pixel depth is reduced to unsigned integer 8 bit and the Pyramid setting is level 6, resampling, Nearest neighbor.
I need the pixel depth to remain as unint 16.
What might be the issue? Could you please help.
Thanks in advance.

Thank you for the detailled description. This helps us to identify why the data is not as expected.

I first recommend to install SNAP 7.0 and to include all necessary updates.

Furthermore, there is a “S2 Resampling Operator” which is specifically designed for Sentinel-2 products. You might want to try this one because it grants correct handling of S2 data.