Preprocessing and Thresholding for Extracting Water

Hi everyone,

I’m relatively new to SAR processing, and I’m working on extracting water extent from the UK using sentinel1 images.

My current workflow (based on a few topics on here, as well as other online blogs/resources) is Apply Orbit File -> Remove-GRD-Border-Noise -> Calibrate to Beta0 -> Speckle Filtering -> Slice Assembly -> Terrain Flattening -> Terrain Correction -> Linear To dB

My question relates to when the thresholding of the data to extract the water extent should be done, and mainly whether this should be done before the terrain flattening or not. Before seems easier to identify the water bodies, with two well defined peaks in the histogram. After, and it is more difficult with the histogram showing more of a bell curve, but my understanding is the terrain flattening is that is required before any classification or thresholding?

Here are the histograms before TF and TC, and after to show what I mean.

Any clarification on this issue, or general advice on the workflow I’m using, would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Miles

P.S. Sorry if this has been covered before and I’ve missed the thread.

I’m not sure you would really need slice assembly or terrain flattening in your case. In the calibration output dB and then do your water detection in SAR geometry. Just before you want to export or results, terrain correct to get the right geocoding.

1 Like

Thanks for your reply, I will give your suggestions a try

Maybe you already solve this issue, but I have similar problem before. It simply because you have mask out many of the ‘water’.

When you apply the terrain correction, turn off the option ‘Mask out areas without elevation’, then you will get the similar histogram as before TF and TC.

Hey guys
I also want to extract the Radarsat 2 water mask. Do u recommend any specific work flow using Sentinel 1 toolbox in order to select the threshold and get the mask accordingly?

Thanks