Print content of the java.lang.string class objects in python

Hallo,
I’m very new to prorgamming in general and I have almost no experience in Python and I never did anything with Java. However, I started to play with the example code to discover snappy., mostly by reading and printing each statement, and discover what it gives out. What I came across is that if I print some specified objects to get their attributes it just gives me this :

[Ljava.lang.String;@… (where … is about 6, 7 or 8 signs long, which is a mix from numbers and low letters).

From reading I got that this is actually a java object, not a python object and as such the attributes behind this objects cannot be given out in a human-readable manner by applying a python operation on this object. If this is wrong, please provide me with the correct information!

So, is it possible to get the attributes anyway? If yes, how?

I read about a python module javaobj-py3, and I installed it (even though it needed some corrections in its source code to be correctly imported into the script)…however, I really don’t understand what it does, e.g. what is marshalling or bit-streaming (I started to read, but as i’m not even sure if it is what I want, my motivation to really dive in was too low).

Might be tough to say, but I’d recommend getting your head around basic programming concepts in either Java or Python first.

I’m a seasoned Software Engineer and using snappy (which is a Python wrapper around Java) is quite tough to use at the easiest of times.

I definitely wouldn’t recommend trying to use snappy before you can comfortably write small applications in Java/Python.

Dear Ciaran,
Yes, I know that snappy is not easy, I just play around with, in fact to learn more on Python. It fits to the task I try to handle currently.
Further, I did not know that it is needed to be able to know Java for it, i thought basic knowledge in Python would be sufficient .