Product Library search fails to authenticate with WORKING credentials

Hello all,

I’m relatively new to SNAP, and this is my first post to STEP (!), but I’ve been careful to reconfirm the issue that I’m having.

I can visit the Data Hub in a browser and successfully sign in. (I did change the password earlier today, but I have logged out and logged back in ( a few times) to confirm that the new credentials work and are properly kept in my password manager.

When I go into the Product Library settings, select Scientific Data Hub, and enter these (copy/paste from password manager, and visually inspect) into the credentials, click Apply, and attempt a search within SNAP, I get a failure alert window (“Failed to retrieve product list from Scientific Data Hub”) and the ~/.snap/var/log/messages.log file includes:

FINE [global]: HTTP GET https://scihub.copernicus.eu/apihub/search?rows=1&start=0&...  returned 401
SEVERE [org.esa.snap.product.library.ui.v2.thread.AbstractRunnable]: Failed to retrieve the product list from 'Scientific Data Hub'.
ro.cs.tao.datasource.QueryException: The supplied credentials are invalid!
	at ro.cs.tao.datasource.remote.scihub.SciHubDataQuery.getCount(SciHubDataQuery.java:228)

I’ve removed the bulk of the search URL above, but it isn’t the issue. However, I will add that, if I do manually copy/paste the full URL back into my browser, I am prompted in a small window for a user/password. And the “working” credentials seem to fail here too, as I am prompted again.

I have restarted SNAP, and reconfirmed the Data Hub account credentials in the settings and tried again to no avail.

I’m using the latest SNAP (8.0.3? “About SNAP” menu doesn’t give me any informational window) on MacOS 11.2.2

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Alaric

Your “working” credentials are not the one used in Product Library. The error message is quite clear. Maybe an extra character was pasted (an empty space, etc).