ProductIO import error using snappy

Good afternoon everyone,

As I’m new to SNAP, I have encountered some issues.
I’m trying to access to SNAP process via Python scripts. After reading multiples topics here, snappy seems to be the best solution. Unfortunately, when I try to run the “1st contact” example, there is an error raised: “ImportError: cannot import name ‘ProductIO’ from ‘snappy’ (C:\ProgramData\Anaconda3\lib\site-packages\snappy_init_.py)”.
I tried a lot of different potential solutions without getting anything else. Any idea?
Thank you in advance.

See How to report bugs [and other problems] effectively. You need to tell us which Windows, SNAP, and Python versions you are using, and how you configured snappy.
Please attach the log file generate by snappy-conf.???.

Note that there are multiple Python packages called “snappy”. You seem to be using Anaconda’s snappy compression package. Python has several mechanisms to select from multiple packages with the same name. I find it best to add the appropriate location in each Python script so it is easy to determine which package the script requires.

Thank you for your reply!
I’m indeed using Anaconda 3 on Windows 10. I tried to install both “snappy” and “python-snappy”, and it seems to be okay. I also tried python 3.7.3 on an environment and python 2.7 on another. Finally, SNAP is in the latest version available at the moment, thus 8 if I’m not wrong.
Could you please be more precise about the command snappy-conf? I’m not getting any log file with it.
Also, how to add the appropriate location as mentioned?

I fear Google has given you bad advice. Please use the official SNAP Python snappy configuration instructions.