Sentinel 1A preprocessing steps

Hi everyone,

since i am new to the processing of sar data, i got a few questions about this topic. I want to use Sentinel 1A GRD data as a byproduct for a land use/ land cover study along with the Sentinel 2A data. Until now I found out that I basically need the following steps:

1: calibration of the DNs to Sigma0, which should deliver the appropriate backscatter values (?) (Radar > Radiometric > Calibrate)

Do I need to check the “save as complex” and perform the conversion “Linear to dB”?

2: despeckle (Radar > Speckle Filtering > Single Product Speckle Filter)

3: terrain correction (Radar>Geometric > Terrain Correction > Range-Doppler Terrain
Correction)

Is there any other step necessary to perform the preprocessing? Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you in advance

GRD-products are not complex (like SLC-products) so no need to save as complex. Linear-to-dB should be performed after speckle-filtering, not before it.

You might want to consider using a co-registered stack of GRD-images, in which case you can perform multi-temporal filtering for speckle reduction.

1 Like

Thank you for the advices. So I guess that my backscatter values of Sigma0 derived from the “linear to dB” conversion would correspond to the reflectance values in optical remote sensing.

I also read about the radiometric normalization that can be performed during the terrain correction. Is this a common preprocessing step?

Radiometric normalization is common and helpful in hilly areas. Radiometric terrain flattening works even better for diminishing topographic effects on SAR imagery.

Dear all,
I have some questions about SAR prepossessing steps; actually I do not know what processes should I apply on those products;

I have GRD product, I saw in below link that ‘radiometric correction’ and ‘multilooking’ have been applied before on SAR images, what is left?
In my idea;
A. Spackle filtering