Sentinel 3 OLCI SICE SNOW properties

I would like to find the snow cover area and snow grain size hence using S3 OLCI product. I am new to the use of S3 and its related plugins on SNAP.

I have a few queries:

1. What bands are necessary for snow properties and snow cover retrieval from the 21 spectral bands apart from band 1, 6, 10, 11, 17, 21 if any. In case, you have any good literature/manual on snow properties retrieval for better understanding, I would appreciate it.

2. I have used OLCI EFR product>>>applied IdePix masking plugin and rayleigh correction on the EFR product. When I apply OLCI SICE snow property plugin, it shows the following error:

Kindly help me figure out the error in this process. I am using the radiance product (IdePix). Am I supposed to use the raw file and rayleigh product instead?

If so, is there any use of the IdePix product as input for snow properties retrieval?

Thankyou in advance.

I think there is part of the post missing :slight_smile:

Sorry about that! I wasn’t expecting such a quick response. I thought I could edit my post before anyone noticed. :sweat_smile:

Such quick response makes it the best place to post queries! I appreciate it. :slight_smile:

1 Like

We are not always that fast :grin:: Sometimes it can take a few days.

I’ll notify my colleague who worked on this plugin. He can answer this better than I can.

2 Likes

I still appreciate the promptness!
Thank you

1. Only the bands 1, 6, 10, 11, 17, 21 are ultimately needed for the snow retrievals. - As a starting point for publications and documentation related to the OLCI SICE Snow properties processor, we recommend http://snow.geus.dk/index.php/publications-and-presentations/

2. From your screenshot it seems that you specified your input products incorrectly:

• OLCI L1b radiance product: should be the product [1] in your Product Explorer
  • OLCI Rayleigh corrected product: the product [4] (or [5]?) in your Product Explorer