Sigma Nought Uncertainty S1-GDRH

Hi everyone. I’m a physicist, and I’m currently working on S1 data to study soil moisture over bare agricultural soils. My question is: how much uncertainty do I have on my backscattering coefficient (sigma nought)? How much the processing of the data affects the natural uncertainty of the initial digital number? What is the uncertainty on the calibration constant?

I worked on GDR-H images from S1, and this is the processing algorithm I used to retrieve the backscattering values:
definitivo_singolo_subset_thermal_inizio_nocsv_source-target.xml (5.7 KB)
Notes: I didn’t make this from scratch, I used the GraphBuilder in SNAP. The subset node is necessary because of memory usage issues.

It is unclear to me how much the initial DN is affected by such a processing, and what is its initial uncertainty. I really just need to know if it falls on the 5-10% or 0.1-1% side, and which are the ways to calculate it.

I would be very glad to start a conversation about this topic, given that I found no mention of uncertainties on any paper I’ve read so far. Is there a specific paper from the official documentation that could help me?

Thank you very much.

P.S. Any comment or suggestion on the way I am processing the data is highly appreciated.

The answer depends on at what level you want to look at the subject. One part is coming from the target itself and the deterministic (but random) speckle noise, which can be mitigated by filtering, and the second part depends on the instrument calibration, the scene properties etc.