SMA spectral unmixing

Hi there,

I am new to this so bare with me.
I would like to map the abundance of 3 different types of snow (red, green and clean) on a glacier based on spectral field measurements. My thoughts were to use the spectral unmixing tool, and the field measurements with the 3 snow types as endmembers. The outcome was 3 bands with grey images. I am unsure what the next step is or if it even worked. Or if this was even the correct method for what I am trying to do.

one of the most important points for (fully constrained) spectral unmixing is that all available surfaces have trained endmembers. If you only have field data for the three types of snow I recommend to mask out all non-snow areas first. Otherwise the method will produce unrealistic outputs.

Do you want to share a screenshot?

1 Like

Thank you for the quick reply!

So this is the screenshot of the site (glacier). I have used the automated masks to mask out everything other than the snow/ice. Is that sufficient? If yes, can I then run the spectral unmixing tool with these endmembers (other screenshot)?

yes, give it a try and share the results.

Hi again,

This is the result

I am unsure how to read data? Like I wrote in the beginning, I would like to see if I can map the abundances of the three types of snow on the glacier.

thanks again

Do the value ranges make sense?
I can only give technical advise, as I don’t know your study area.

Sure.
Sorry, but how do I read the value ranges? I am unsure what I am looking at. I feel that I am missing information to understand the image. I was hoping to get some numerical data about the abundance of the different endmembers.

I saw that one of your products ends with jp2
I recommend sticking to the BEAM DIMAP format because it conserves all necessary metadata.
Actually, the output should contain one band per material/endmember where each pixel has an abundance value (depending on the selected unmixing method).