SNAP and MS-Snipping-Tool problem

I’m a sysadmin at the Department of Geography at the University of Zurich and we use SNAP on our course room NUCs and on RDS for some courses.

We deploy SNAP as a PSADT package on the course infrastructure (NUCs) and on the RDS, but the problems also exist in a simple installation with the installer.

We use Windows10 on the NUCs and Windows Server 2022 for the RDS.
We are using SNAP 9.0.6.

There are currently 2 major issues:

1.) When SNAP is open and students use the Snipping Tool to take a screenshot, SNAP force-closes without any error. SNAP force-closes when students press the X on the Snipping Tool and discard the screenshot. I can sometimes reproduce this, but not always. WIN-SHIFT-S (snipping tool without GUI) avoids this problem.

2.) SNAP does not start. The splash screen appears but hangs. My guess is that the last time SNAP was closed, both processes (SNAP.exe and the ZULU Java task) were not closed properly. After using Task Manager to kill the hanging process, SNAP starts as expected. This may be related to 1.)

If I can provide any additional information, please let me know.

Thank you

Dear @rothjoerg,
Thank you for reporting this. JIRA ticket SNAP-3573 created to track the issue.

Dear @rothjoerg,

Please:

1. upload SNAP’s logs of one of the affected machines. You can find it under %userprofile%\AppData\Roaming\SNAP\var\log.

2. check Windows’ logs for errors, with special attention to graphic card errors.

Attached my messages.log
messages.log (75.8 KB)

I can’t see any errors related to the graphic card in the Windows logs. It seems MS-Snipping Tool closes properly.

Regards,

Jörg

[…] we use SNAP on our course room NUCs and on RDS for some courses.

We deploy SNAP as a PSADT package on the course infrastructure (NUCs)
and on the RDS, but the problems also exist in a simple installation
with the installer.

We use Windows10 on the NUCs and Windows Server 2022 for the RDS.