Terrain Correction with SRTM-1sec

Hi – I’m a newbie to the S1 Toolbox. I have searched thoroughly in the threads about this – but haven’t found any solutions yet so am hoping a new thread can garner some help.

I am hoping to use the SRTM 1sec DEM for terrain correction but have hit a dead end. The auto-download SRTM 3-sec works great, but I’d really like to take advantage of the higher resolution 1-sec DEM. I cannot find details on how to use a “non-autodownloadable” DEM anywhere in the user guides or forums.

I have 1deg x 1deg geotiffs of the SRTM-1sec locally-- do relevant tiles need to be mosaicked into one file, and do we need to specify what directory these files somehow – or should I be selecting “External DEM” instead of SRTM1sec in the Terrain Correction module and point to where these DEM files sit?

I am using the most up-to-date version of the S1 Toolbox. Any info – or some direction – would be most appreciated!

but SRTM 1 sec is available as auto download.

1 Like

Ah, I see now that it’s available in the SNAP application. Thank you!

Hi,
I have one more question about the previous used auto-downloaded SRTM 3 arc-second DEM. Is this SRTM plus which was released in 2013 (https://lpdaac.usgs.gov/about/news_archive/nasa_shuttle_radar_topography_mission_srtm_version_30_srtm_plus_product_release) ?

Kind regards
Luyi

I’m trying to use the SRTM 1 sec, but they won’t autodownload.
Is there a way to force SNAP to do the autodownload?
Can I download the DEMs myself and put them into a folder somewhere that SNAP will look through?

1 Like

Use SRTM 1Sec HGT (Auto Download)

2 Likes

I’ve been trying that, but it won’t autodownload. Only a tiny portion of my frame gets processed, and I know that the SRTM 1 Sec covers more than what is processed because I’ve downloaded SRTM 1 Sec DEMs from EarthExplorer and they cover my entire area of interest.