Total newbie needing help accessing satellite views

Dear forum members,

I am a private individual who needs to obtain a satellite view of a particular plot of land at specific dates. I have already exploited all images I could readily find online (Google Earth Pro, Geoportail and such), but in trying to find some more interesting data, I found that Sentinel-1 offered more data still.

The only problem is I have no clue about how to process these images to obtain something similar to what you see when you open Google Earth. I downloaded Snap and followed their guidelines as well as the instructions of some forum posts. Unfortunately, there is always something which does not work on my side, and not knowing what each step actually does makes it impossible for me to circumvent these failures.

I just need to understand how to obtain a simple satellite view (such as you could find on Google Earth), in as high a ground resolution as possible, for a plot of ca. 20 ha. But given my knowledge, this will probably take multiple exchanges :slight_smile:

Would there be a generous soul willing to help me out?

I thank you all very much in advance for your kind help.

Best regards,
Stefan

You should start by learning some SAR basics so you understand how SAR images are created. How successful you can be depends on the topography, vegetation, shape of your area of interest, and the type of changes you hope to measure.

This background will help you get more out of tutorials for SNAP and Sentinel 1..

Hi gnwiii,

Thanks for your reply.
I will try to look into this, but at the first glance I can tell it will probably be too technical for me.

What I need is to know what I should do in Snap to turn the files I download from Copernicus into images like the one below, with the best possible resolution.