What does the GPF-module?

Hello,

I tried to understand the examples in the snappy directory and a lot of the code is clear, but I don’t get what the GPF module does.
The beginning of the code in example snappy_bmaths.py is:
import sys
from snappy import ProductIO
from snappy import GPF
from snappy import jpy

Can someone explain how the GPF funktions work?
As an example: result=GPF.createProduct('BandMaths', parameters, product) ?

Thank you.

Hi, as linked in my previous answer, the code from the Java API is documented here, it also describes what those methods do.

For example, GPF.createProduct() does:

http://step.esa.int/docs/v5.0/apidoc/engine/org/esa/snap/core/gpf/GPF.html

Ok. Thanks. For me it is kind of difficult to understand this documentation, because I’m new to python and never worked with java. More precisely: python is kind of my first computer language.
Thus, I do not really get what the benefit is from GPF.

Think of it as like running a process on your data, for example if you want to do terrain correction, you would do:

params = HashMap()
params.put('demResamplingMethod', 'BILINEAR_INTERPOLATION')
params.put('imgResamplingMethod', 'BILINEAR_INTERPOLATION')
params.put('demName', 'SRTM 3Sec')
params.put('pixelSpacingInMeter', 10.0)
params.put('sourceBands', 'Sigma0_VH')
params.put('nodataValueAtSea', False)

terrain_corrected_product = GPF.createProduct("Terrain-Correction", params, product)

If python is your first language then I appreciate Java docs will look scary, but you don’t need to be able to code in Java to try map them back :slight_smile:
How much python/programming have you done? Something this undocumented in a python environment might be quite tricky!

GPF as I understand is what does all the main processing within the SNAP Desktop Application, if you can do it on the GUI you’ll probably need to use GPF.

I understand that GDF kind of put the results together in one result. Is this right? This is what your code looks like.