Windows 10 Install - update or install failed?

A lot of time down the pan, not even used it yet (and I am a software developer). So I tried to install two or three ways. (Using Java 1.8 update 333)

1. Off the exe file in windows explorer - program failed - hung
  2. Off the command line: esa-snap_sentinel_windows-x64_8_0.exe -Dinstall4j.keepLog=true … installed in the default directory.
    …this appeared to work as the program loaded at the end of the install procedure, but as a previous user mentioned there does not appear to be a Snap directory anywhere, and neither does it create a menu item or a desktop icon. So after closing the application I could not reopen it. It seems that I can only load the application at the end of an install process.
  3. As above but specifying a directory directly off the route i.e c:\snap … not where I would like it, but program files wasnt having it.

Anyway closed it and reloaded it …only to have it hang again after a NetBeans integration popped up saying it was updating the application. So as I cant kill the process, I will reboot (beginning to look like a liability rather than facilitator). Rebooted. Directory c:\snap has been abducted by aliens! It’s been deleted. No not hidden.

So back to square 1 - no way of loading without reinstalling. And no faith that if I do get it installed and working it wont just clear out again sometime soon.

We have many thousands of Win 10 users with very few reports of problems with the installers, so it is hard to say what is causing your issues.

Indeed I am sure its difficult for you to say what is causing my issues, but from my point of view, something worth saying, as someone with more insight about this particular issue might come back with a pointer as to cause, or mentioning some install criteria previously undocumented.