Windows 10: SNAP is not installed properly

I’m new to SNAP and just installed it today. The installation seem to have worked well, at least without any errors. But after the installation, there is no program file for snap, where I saved it to during installation. I can just use it as long as it is opened after the installation. Furthermore all new files I create and save in SNAP cannot be found manually afterwards in the specific folders. I’m using Windows 10 64bit. Java is updated, as far as this might be necessary.
Thanks a lot,
Niklas

can you please check the installation directory? It should look something like this:

grafik

Inside the bin folder, there is snap64.exe which launches the program.

grafik

I’m not quite sure what you mean with “files cannot be found manually”, maybe you can specify this a bit.

I installed snap to the directory C:/program files/ but it can’t be found there. There is just no installation directory for snap. I even tried to adress it via cmd but that wasn’t possible either. As well no desktop icon was created though the box was ticked during installation. I tried to install it again several times and on another laptop but had the same problem (the other laptop has pretty similar settings). With every re-installation I was told that snap is already installed on this computer.
To “files cannot be found manually”: All output I produced and exported (e.g. as tiff) was saved in specific folders, but the files can only be found and adressed via snap, not after closing snap. The folders then are shown as empty. I tried to address those files via cmd as well, but without success. My memory is partitoned, I read that this can yield problems sometimes, but I don’t now why this should be the case…

Were the missing files saved to your Desktop? You could be seeing a race condition in Windows Update.