"bound must be positive" error in the Random Forest Classifier

Hi, I’m new in snap. I want to do a supervised classification with Random Forest Classifier but when I execute the tool I receive the notification “bound must be positive”. How can I solve this?

reproject your data to WGS84 (uncheck “reproject tie-point grids”) and try again. Somehow, the classification module cannot handle UTM coordinates.
See here: Rndom forest classification steps

2 Likes

It worked, thank you very much!.

Kind regards

@Misio

Hi, I am working with SNAP to classify crops. I got same error(“bound must be positive”).
And I tried to do what ABraun said as rectification(uncheck “reproject tie-point rids”). but I am unable to find this option can you please help me in this ?

Raster > Geometric > Reprojection
Select Geographical (lat/lon) WGS84 here.

Hi @ABraun and @Misio, Recently I am following the solution from this discussion, but I found the same error for both GRD and SLC Sentinel 1 and Sentinel 2 after reprojecting to WGS 84 while doing the random forest classification. I also found the same error while using similar data in UTM WGS 84 zone 50S. How to fix this issue?, Thank you.

Sentinel-2 data is stored in UTM by default. So it is advisable to reproject it to WGS84 before merging it with Sentinel-1 (also WGS84 after terrain correction). Have you seen this tutorial? Synergetic use of S1 (SAR) and S2 (optical) data and use of analysis tools

Profesor @ABraun, thank you for your reply. It is very important for my study. I forgot to explain in details that I did random forest for S1 and S2 in two different processes, not merging both data for this time. But, I will check the suggested tutorial soon. Thank you

could it be that the training data (maybe imported as SHP) are stored in UTM coordinates?

I used the training samples that previously made in QGIS as shapefile and it stored in WGS84 .

after which step did you import the training samples?