Coherence Masking

Hello. I’m doing InSar and trying to mask out areas of low coherence that are bellow the threshold. I have no idea how to do it. Please help me, I’m just new to InSAR and could surely use some help with most of it.

It’s very easy to do so, take a look at the following link and post,

Masking low coherence areas before unwrapping, Source : https://rus-copernicus.eu/forum/t/masking-low-coherence-areas-before-unwrapping/147

And , this post,

Source of the post

I did not understand a thing or I cannot follow any of the attached references.

Then please specify what data you use, what steps you applied and at which point you are stuck.

Hello!
I have a theoritical question on coherence masking and especially for coherence threshold.
What exactly mean if we put coherence threshold 0.3. We mean that for example for filtering we took all the values from 1 to 0.3 or we took the values between 1 to 0.7?

Thank you!

a threshold of 0.3 means that areas with coherence smaller than 0.3 are not filtered to avoid unwrapping errors and unneccessary computing.

Thank you for your very quick response!

i want do a mask that showme the values >0.5 (coheremce), but i dont like that points white, there is some formula for that only show this values blacks?

Use the threshold in the valid pixel expression of the phase band as described in this tutorial
Sentinel-1 TOPS interferometry (figure 31)

1 Like

goog afternoon, how can i to do a DEM?, I know the process until unwraping phase and calculate of phase to displacement.

please check this tutorial: DEM generation with Sentinel-1 - Workflow and challenges

Good day sir. What difference does this statement makes if I use 0.15 instead? Thank you

there is no universally valid threshold. If you raise it, more areas are masked out, if you lower it, less areas are masked out. The key is to remove those areas with noisy phase.