Interferogram from Alos palsar 1.1 data

Hello
I am a novice trying ALOS PALSAR interferometry. at present I have two ALOS PALSAR 1.1 imagery downloaded from the Vertex website. I would like to create an interferogram using S1tbx. I tried the orthorectification of the imagery but following the deskewing method as given in the tutorials of ESA I have not been able to proceed with the interferometry process. Please help me!!

4 Likes

I would suggest the following order:

1. Coregistration
  2. Subset (if necessary)
  3. Deskewing
  4. Interferogram formation
  5. Terrain Correction

Did you receive any error message?

I tried this. First I downloaded two imageries from the vertex website for the years 2007 and 2009, added the VOL-ALPSRP091260440-H1.1A file. For each of the files radiometric calibration was carried out separately. Following this, multilooking and speckle filtering was carried out for each of the images using the HH only. Then I created a co-registered stack for both the two imageries. Till this point there was no error. So I carried on with the ALOS deskewing part. The Deskew was done in 60 seconds! But as soon as I tried the Interferometry procedure Errors began to crop up. The most recent error is that the product must be an SLC product. After this point i have not been able to create any interferogram.

If you are working on InSAR, you shouldn’t calibrate, multi-look or speckle filter your imagery at all. You lose all complex information present in your data.

Okay. So I should directly go for coregistration of the two imageries, and then subset, deskew and go for interferogram creation? But what about the steps of interferogram creation? Any changes to be made for ALOS PalSAR imagery?

yes, try the order I suggested above.
As long as the coregistration was sucessful, the interferogram generation will have no trouble.