S1 TOPS co-registration doesn't seem to work

Hello,

I’m trying to co-register a pair of S1 SLC images but the slave image result is only zeros (for the i and q bands) and NaN (for the intensity band). The images are in the same acquisition mode, pass and track. I have six images from 2015 and tried several different image pair combinations. All result in NaN for the slave image.

SNAP 2.0.2, Windows 7, 16 GB ram.

I’m using the built-in S1 TOPS Coregistration tool and choosing the IW3 band (VV). I’m also following the instructions for the Sentinel-1 TOPSAR Interferometry tutorial available on step.esa.int. I’ve also tried each step manually (i.e. not using the graph) and the result is the same.

Since the area I’m studying is above 60N, I’ve used an external DEM (geotiff, wgs84). I’ve also tried the Getasse30 DEM. Same results

Any and all help is appreciated,
Michael

In the backgeocoding, try unchecking the “mask out areas with no elevation” checkbox.
Also, if you do the processing manually, check at which step do the slave bands become 0.

Hello,

Thanks for the reply. The problem arises during the back-geocoding stage. I’m re-running the process with the “Mask out areas…” unchecked. It’s taking a lot longer time so maybe that’s a good sign.

I’ll return soon with an update.

Did you resolve this? I am having the same issue running through this tutorial: https://media.asf.alaska.edu/uploads/pdf/current_data_recipe_pdfs/generate_insar_with_s1tbx_v4.1.pdf

Make sure you have the latest updates. The url to the default srtm dem has changed. Without it, a lot of things may not work properly.

Thank you! I installed the latest update and everything worked great.