Snappy: Where to start?

Good afternoon,

I am a new ESA Trainee and I would like to implement some of the processes of S2-tbx/sen2cor into a online platform. As a programming language I am going to use python. Are there beginner guides, handbooks or well documented scripts available?

Until now I found:

1. How to use the SNAP API from Python:
    https://senbox.atlassian.net/wiki/display/SNAP/How+to+use+the+SNAP+API+from+Python
    -> I could install snappy properly and run “snappy first contact”

2. Scripts
    https://github.com/senbox-org/snap-examples/tree/master/snap-engine-python-script
    https://github.com/senbox-org/snap-examples/tree/master/snap-engine-python-operator
    -> I looked at them but they are quite complicated for a beginner like me, especially without basic comments. :wink:

Thank you for your help.
Andreas

3 Likes

You made already a good start. :+1:
Some more examples can be found in the snappy dir.
There is an examples and a tests directory. In those directories you will find more or less simple scripts.
Beside what you have already found there is no beginners guide or handbook. Sorry for disappointing you.
The developer guide, you found it already in the wiki, is still under construction.
However, feel free to ask questions here in the forum as much as you like.

Thank you @marpet, I found the examples you mentioned and they are really helpful. I costumized “snappy_subset.py” to run with “S-2” and added some new input arguments. It works well but there are two INFO message and especially the second one irritates me:

INFO: org.esa.s2tbx.dataio.s2.ortho.S2OrthoProduct10MReaderPlugIn: Building product reader 10M - EPSG:32632
INFO: org.esa.s2tbx.dataio.s2.l1c.L1cMetadata: Skipping tile S2A_OPER_MTD_L1C_TL_SGS__20160113T143043_A002922_T31TGJ.xml because it has crs EPSG:32631 instead of requested EPSG:32632