Tomographic processing of Sentinel-1

Hi,
I was trying to generate a canopy height model using Sentinel-1 interferometric pair for a tropical mangrove forest site. But as the coherence values were low I couldn’t produce a good DEM for the area. Now I am thinking about doing tomographic processing of Sentinel-1 data. Is it technically possible to do it?

1 Like

Well, I am not an expert of tomography, but you normally need high values of coherence to derive good quality measurements out of the data. You could probably do something over urban area, but over vegetation, either try with only 6 days interval, or try to use other lower frequency band (L-band for example with ALOS or P-band from any airbone campaign if available)

Let us know! I am curious of your achiements on this goal

I can recommend these two resources of the EO college which have been published lately:

On GIT: https://github.com/EO-College/tomography_tutorial

It was done with Airborne SAR data but it might help you to find out if it is feasible with Sentinel-1.

PolSARpro also has a Tomography module but I didn’t manage to get results with quadpol ALOS-2 data so far:
Maybe you want to test what I tried with Sentinel-1: Calibration in PolSARpro problem

Studies using TomoSAR on Sentinel-1:

2 Likes

Hi,

Note that the last article about TomoSAR talks about the inclusion in this platform PSI capability ( Persistent Scatterers Interferometry) to estimate subsidence using TOPS Sentinel-1 data. Do not mention the use of Sentinel-1 data for tomography applications. Not sure if I am missing something tho…

About SAOCOM, is L-band, as I said, if you want to get coherence from canopy to soil, P-band airbone and L-band is the best you may get. With C-band you can try, and please let us know.

you are right - the last one is not about TomoSAR itself.