Avalanche detection in SNAP with Sentinel SAR

have anyone done avalanche detection in SNAP with sentinel 1 data.
I am finding difficulties in applying layover and foreshortening mask to my data.
I tried SAR simulation, but my results are not good.
There are two options “SAR simulation” and “SAR simulation Terrain Correction” which one should I choose. What are the exact steps for Layover and foreshortening mask.
Also is it ok to used 30m ASTER DEM with 10m SAR for Terrain Correction?
Please help, any reply would be much appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

In this topic we discussed the extraction and use of the shadow and layover mask: Remove sentinel 1 shadow
Maybe this helps?

1 Like

Hello ABraun, thankyou for replying. I read the mentioned post you shared with me. But as I am new to SAR and the topic you shared is different, I couldnt get it. Could you please help me to detect avalanche in my study area (region in himalaya)
I read many papers but couldnt follow , because i belive their topography is different and mine is different.
So for preprocessing i did thermal noise removal > calibration> speckle filtering in Graph builder.
After that i am not able to proceed, i dont know what do first, terrain correction or sar simulation terrain correction.

I’m not an expert in this topic. For the pre-processing - if you need the shadow and layover mask, you first apply the SAR Simulation to get it and then terrain correct it.

One way to test for avalanches would be to analyze multiple image pairs for loss of coherence. But this requires SLC data and procudes large amounts of data.

1 Like

Hi ABraun
Can you please tell me if how to get backscatter with single image before going to multi-image analysis.
I tried getting sigma0 which I though is backscatter only, but my results are not good.
I am using aster dem 30 m for terrain correction. And the complete workflow that I am following is